Homemade Cream of Chicken Soup

A week or two ago, I made my mom’s Chicken N Goo recipe for the Mr. As I was pulling out all of the ingredients I realized I didn’t buy any cream of chicken soup! I tend to do that often – I’ll see an awesome post with a DIY somethingorother and when I’m at the store think “No, I don’t need to buy that, I’ll just make it!” Fast forward and I forget to make it 🙂 This was so easy to whip up, though, and I had enough to can left overs for future use!

I stole this recipe from Pinch of Yum because it seemed the easiest to make and had great results! Enjoy!

Cream of Chicken Soup
Cream of Chicken Soup

Homemade Cream of Chicken Soup

makes about 3 cups

2 1/2 cups chicken broth (homemade if at all possible!)

1 1/2 cups milk

3/4 cup flour

1/2 tsp onion powder

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 tsp sea salt

1/2 tsp parsley

 

1. Combine the chicken broth and 1/2 cup of the milk in a large saucepan. Bring to a simmer.

2. Meanwhile, in a small bowl, whisk the flour and seasonings into the remaining 1 cup milk until smooth.

3. Pour the flour and milk mixture into the saucepan with the broth mixture over low heat and stir continuously until thick, or 5-10 minutes. Keep in mind the mixture will thicken even more as it cools.

How simple is that!?

Related articles

Leave a Reply

