Homemade Butter

Homemade Butter
Homemade Butter

Over the weekend Mr Marine and I ran out of butter. Since I’ve been on this green/organic/homemade kick I decided I would make my own instead of buying from the store! According to Bon Appetit it may be a waste of time, but I wanted to be able to call it my own. I love the idea of making butter! You put one ingredient in and get two ingredients out! Now I’ve got butter AND buttermilk to use in my banana nut bread tomorrow!

Making homemade butter couldn’t be more simple! Buy heavy cream (organic if you don’t mind paying a little extra), throw it in your standing mixer and let it go with the whisk attachment on medium speed until the cream gets chunky and take on a yellow tint. Mine took an awfully long time (I think I kept the speed too low because I was afraid of splashing) and I thought I had done it wrong, but a little patience paid off!

Once it’s taken on a yellow-chunky look, stop the mixer and get your hands dirty! With your hands, scoop up the curds and squish them together to form a solid ball. Keep the remaining buttermilk for other cooking projects! Bon Appetit says you can do this in a bowl of very cold water, to help remove all of the liquid but I didn’t and it came out fine. They also say homemade butter will go rancid in a week. Mine didn’t last that long 😉 Next batch I’m going to do will have fresh herbs mixed in…or maybe garlic…or maybe honey…oh the possibilities!

Related articles

Leave a Reply

