Personal Mission Statement

Audrey Hepburn
Audrey Hepburn

The story of my personal mission statement started years ago. My mother gave me “7 habits” when I was going through difficult teenager times but I never read it. A good friend of mine is a soccer coach, and always knows what to say. He has read and re-read 7 Habits countless times and can quote directly from it. It’s made a huge impact on his life. I’ve picked it up, read a couple chapters, put it down again, forgotten about it, picked it up again, reread what I’d already read countless times. It’s a great book! Full of thought-provoking, life-altering insight and advice. If you don’t have it already, please please please go out and get it. It’s definitely worth it!

That being said, Habit 2 in the book of 7 Habits is keeping the end in mind. The idea behind keeping the end in mind is to think about your funeral (later they changed it to your 80th bday — I think the funeral portion was too morbid, but I like it better) and think about what you want your friends and family to say about you. What do you want to leave them with? Do you want to be a good friend? Mentor? Mother? Businessman? What matters to you, in the end? Does that group paper that’s due this week really matter? (Speaking of…I need to go work on that :p) Really take the time to envision what you’d like to be remembered for.

Role-Based

There are several ways to go about creating your missions statement.One way is to list out your roles in life:

  1. Mother
  2. Daughter
  3. Wife
  4. Employee
  5. Community member

Then next to these roles, write out what kind of a “mother” you want to be. What you believe your role as a wife is. This will help you identify your goals and values.

Area-Based

Or break it into areas of your life:

  1. Home
  2. Work
  3. Relationships

And identify what you want to give and get out of each aspect of your life.

Value-Based

A third way to go about it is to list out the top 10 values that are important to you. For me the list looks like this (in no particular order):

  1. Hard work
  2. Discipline
  3. Honesty
  4. Utility
  5. Respect
  6. Politeness
  7. Love
  8. Consideration/empathy/understanding
  9. Patience
  10. Loyalty

Or do all three. This is a living document that should constantly be revisited and changed, added to, and can take on any form you’d like it. I’ll be honest, mine is a list of roles, values, phrases that embody the woman I want to be. It has quotes from famous women, things I can do on a daily basis to be the woman I envision. I visit it daily…just as a reminder of who I want to be, what I want to bring to this world and the people around me, and to not let myself fall into the habit of pity, laziness, sadness.

Here are a couple quotes I have on my own mission statement to get you started:

“For beautiful eyes, look for the good in others; for beautiful lips, speak only words of kindness; and for poise, walk with the knowledge that you are never alone.”

-Audrey Hepburn

“I believe in pink. I believe that laughing is the best calorie burner. I believe in kissing, kissing lot. I believe in being strong when everything seems to be going wrong. I believe that happy girls are the prettiest girls. I believe that tomorrow is another day and I believe I miracles.”

-Audrey Hepburn

“A woman is vibrant, loving, caring, in her home she is the battery, the source of strength for her family. She glows outwardly and inwardly.”

-Unkown

 

Have you written a mission statement? What do you have on it? Is your electronic, paper, a collage?

Leave a Reply

