Frugal Foods – Homemade Pizza Sauce

Homemade Pizza Sauce
Homemade Pizza Sauce

This past week Mr Marine and I were snowed in, in a late winter snow storm. This weekend it should be in the 60s! While we were deciding what to have for lunch, we noticed we had one pizza crust left, a little bit of mozzarella, a little bit of cheddar and some pepperonis. Almost everything for a pizza EXCEPT the sauce! Mr. Marine challenged me to make pizza sauce from scratch — something I had never tried before! I jumped at the challenge and am AMAZED at the results. I doubled the recipe and had enough left over for a small mason jar for future use. I’ll have to figure out a recipe for when my tomatoes come in in my garden and have homemade ORGANIC pizza sauce year-round!

1 Tbsp EVOO

1 Tbsp butter

1/2 medium white onion, cubed

1 clove of garlic

1 14.5 oz cans of tomatoes (garlic and oregano)

1 Tbsp basil pesto

  1. Sauté onion in oil and butter
  2. Add garlic, sauté briefly
  3. add cans of tomatoes and pesto
  4. simmer for 15-20 min, and blend
Pizza
Leave a Reply

