Creating Your Home Management Binder

Home Management Binder

Home Management Binder

As you know, Mr Marine and I recently moved into a new house together. We’ve combined financials, bills, accounts, responsibilities, goals, plans, everything! I was excited to take this opportunity to create a Home Management Binder. I’d read a lot about them on several blogs and Pinterest and was excited to try it out. One trip to Rite Aid later and I’d bought the binder and sheet protectors and was ready to go. I scoured the internet finding free printables that fit me and my family and my needs.

The Calendar

On the calendar section, I’ve added family birthdays, holidays, anniversaries, anything special worth remembering. I’ve also added paydays (I get paid every two weeks, Mr Marine gets paid the 1st and 15th of every month, or a couple days before depending on what day in the week it falls on). This helps us know when and how much money is coming in to plan out the budget for that month.

Bills

I’ve also added regular bills such as car payments and rent, and whenever a new bill comes in the mail, I add the due date to the calendar. Once a bill has been paid, I put a check mark next to it so I know it’s been taken care of. Once a bill’s been paid, I’ll write directly on the bill “Paid in Full” or “PIF” (or the amount paid against it) and the date. I’ll then punch holes in it and add it directly to a section I have labeled for that particular bill. That way, if there’s any every question, all of the bills are easily accessible.

Budget

I also created a simple Excel spreadsheet to keep track of our budget. It’s not very pretty, but what I do is put the amount I’ve allowed myself for each for that month at the top, and whenever I make a purchase against that bucket, I add it below the header. That way, no matter how far we are into the month, I always have a quick reference guide to how much I have left to spend. Whatever is left over at the end of the month gets added to savings and I start again fresh the next month.

Debts

I also have a list of all of our debts: car loans, mortgages, credit card debts, etc. I’ve listed out the remaining balance, as of date, monthly payment amounts and percentage of interest. It’s important to know these numbers at an easy reference, especially if you’re following Dave Ramsey’s debt snowball method.

To Do Lists

I also have an on-going to do list, weekly, monthly, quarterly cleaning checklists, phone/address pages, utility account tracker, website username and password tracker, and a form for medical information.

Lists that are reused often, such as to-do lists, you can write with a dry erase marker on the outside of the sheet protector and wipe it off the next day.

Groceries

I’m also working on creating a Master Menu List, where I can break out my family’s favorite meals so when I’m planning my weekly trip to the store, I can simply pick meals from the Master Menu (with input from the fam if I want it 😉 ) and jot down the ingredients.

Use your home management binder for a month or so and come back to it and ask yourself what it’s missing, what you do and don’t use, and revamp it. It’s an ongoing process and will never be complete! Go crazy decorating it and giving it your flare!

The links below are a couple great resources I’ve found for forms, calendars, ideas, and inspiration.  Pick and choose the printables that are right for your situation and family!

Organized Home

Simple Mom

Life Your Way

Real Simple

Mom Agenda

A Bowl Full Of Lemons

New Bee Homeschooler

Simple Dimples

Leave a Reply

