Ramen and Egg

Frugal Foods

Frugal Foods

I wasn’t quite sure what to call this. It’s kind like Pho, but not really, and it’s so much better than just regular Ramen, but I decided to keep it simple. You know how they say women should have one dinner that will make their beau propose? ie Rachel Ray’s “You Won’t be Single For Long Vodka Cream Pasta” Well this is Mr Marine’s recipe for me. He was stationed for a good number of years in Okinawa and raves about entire street vendors devoted to nothing by Ramen. I was skeptical. Ramen’s supposed to be a cheap, starving-artist, poor-college-kid staple. Anything you can buy for 18 cents just can’t be THAT good, can it?

One Friday, after a long, hard day at work, I hopped in my car and made the 6 hour drive down to NC to visit him for the weekend. I was exhausted, stressed, unhappy, sick to my stomach and really just felt sorry for myself. He met me at the door with a hug and a kiss, and whipped this up while I finished some things for work. This is what convinced me to marry him. No joke.

Ramen and Egg

Ramen and Egg

1 packet oriental Ramen

1 egg

soy sauce, sesame oil, Sriracha sauce to taste

1. Make the packet of Ramen. Add egg. Add soy sauce, sesame oil, sriracha (or rooster as we call it in our house since we can’t agree on the correct pronunciation). You can add crunchy noodles, cilantro, bean sprouts, anything your little heart desires. It’s really just that simple!

Leave a Reply

