Spicy Italian Cream Pasta

A friend’s husband is an avid deer hunter. He spends nearly every weekend of hunting season in his stand a couple towns away. He shoots them, cleans them and packages them himself. She recently told me he had so much Venison in his meat locker, he’s been letting deer just walk by, because they would go to waste if he shot them. Now I love everything about venison. The taste reminds me of my childhood (my father was an avid hunter), it doesn’t get more organic than that, and if the hunter is a good one, the deer does not suffer through a long, painful death.

The other night, I went over to their house and picked up almost 40 lbs of meat – FREE! (almost free, I offered a couple bottles of my beau’s best home brew) He gave me several different cuts of meat, including a couple rungs of “spicy italian sausage”. Below is what I made with it:

Spicy Sausage Pasta

Spicy Sausage Pasta

Serves 4 with plenty of leftovers

1 Tbsp EVOO (venison is a leaner meat – if you go with pork Italian sausage, you’ll do fine omitting this)

1 lb Egg Noodles

1 lb Spicy Italian Sausage

3 Cloves of garlic, minced

3 Tbsp butter

1 12-oz can Condensed milk (I used 2%)

1.2 cup shredded Parmesan

  1. Heat oil in large frying pan to medium-high
  2. Add sausage and crumble with a spatula until browned
  3. Stir in garlic and cook until translucent on low heat
  4. Add milk and butter and simmer on low for 10 minutes
  5. While that cooks, bring a pot of salted water to a boil and cook the egg noodles
  6. While that’s cooking down, drain pasta and add to sausage mixture

-Lauren

3 thoughts on “Spicy Italian Cream Pasta

  1. Pingback: Venison in a Cream Sauce over Pearl Cous Cous « LauraLovingLife

Leave a Reply

