DIY Terrariums – Harder Than I Thought!

When I saw a DIY Terrarium on Pinterest I thought, “What a great idea for Christmas gifts! And so easy!”

Wow was I wrong!

Terrarium - Before

Terrarium – Before

Terrarium – Before

I figured you just thew some rocks, soil and some plants in a glass container and the job was done! Not very pretty, is it? So here’s what I did wrong:

  • My container was not big enough: there was not enough room in the jar to have a decent layer of stones, soil and plant life. I also got a lot of soil on top of the leaves, but it was too tight to get my hand in to brush them off.
  • Wrong kind of soil: the succulents I bought from Home Depot should be potted in a catcus/citrus potting soil, not a flower potting soil.
  • Too many plants: this goes along with the “my container was not big enough”. It’s hard to see in the photo above, but when I added the soil around the plants, it got all over the leaves, is uneven, it’s just a mess.

How to do it the right way:

What you will need:

  • LARGE jar – get one larger than you think you need
  • Decorative rocks
  • Cactus/Citrus potting soil (if you’re using succulents – if you prefer to use ferns, average potting soil will work fine)
  • Activated charcoal (this will prevent mold from growing inside your terrarium)
  • Succulents
  • Small paint brush
  1. Put a decent layer of rocks on the bottom.
  2. Lay a thin layer of soil on top and pat down.
  3. Lay the plants individually where you want them and arrange to taste.
  4. Pack in potting soil around the plants, covering the roots and soil that came with them.
  5. Using a small paint brush, brush any soil clinging to the sides of the container, and, supporting the leaves with your hand, brush soil off the leaves.
  6. Wet thoroughly with a spray bottle. Wait 10 minutes and wet thoroughly again. This will help the plants take root.

How did my new and improved method turn out?

Terrarium - After

Terrarium – After

Terrarium - Close Up
Leave a Reply

